Newcastle East was re-moulded for the 2010 General Election from the Tyne Bridge and Newcastle East and Wallsend seats. There were indications that it was under threat from Liberal Democrats in 2010, though in the event, Labour's Nick Brown was returned to Westminster with a smaller majority. Nick Brown served as Chief Whip in Gordon Brown's Government.

The constituency takes in a diverse range of wards, from the affluent suburb of Jesmond with a large student population to lower-income areas like Byker and Walker.

Nick Brown (Labour) won the seat in 2010. He was first elected in 1983 and is standing again.

The 2010 result:

Labour: 17,043 (45.0%)

Liberal Democrats: 12,590 (33.3%)

Conservative: 6,068 (16.0%)

BNP: 1,342 (3.5%)

Green 620 (1.6%)

Communist 177 (0.5%)

Majority: 4,453 (11.8%)

The 2015 candidates:

Nick Brown (Lab)

Duncan Crute (Con)

Andrew Gray (Green)

Paul Phillips (TUSC)

David Robinson-Young (UKIP)

Mollie Stevenson (CPGB)

Wendy Taylor (Lib Dem)