Constituency Profile: Sedgefield

Labour currently holds Sedgefield. Credit: Photo: ITV News Tyne Tees

This seat found itself in the international spotlight, as the constituency of the former Prime Minister Tony Blair, who represented the area between 1983 and 2007. Memorably, during the Blair years, the constituency played host to a visit from former US President George W. Bush.

The constituency is made up of former coalfields and mining villages. The seat has been Labour since its creation in 1983, though the town of Sedgefield includes substantial Conservative support.

Phil Wilson (Labour) took over the seat after winning it in 2007 and he will be standing again.

The 2010 result:

Labour: 18,141 (45.1%)

Conservative: 9,445 (23.5%)

Lib Dem: 8,033 (20.0%)

BNP: 2,075 (5.2%)

UKIP: 1,479 (2.6%)

Independent: 1,049 (2.6%)

Majority: 8,696 (21.6%)

The 2015 candidates:

Phil Wilson (Lab)

Scott Wood (Con)

Stephen Glenn (Lib Dem)

John Leathley (UKIP)

Greg Robinson (Green Party)