Thirsk and Malton is a geographically huge constituency that covers the rural areas of North Yorkshire, including part of the North Yorks Moors and follows the Yorkshire Wolds east to the town of Filey on the coast.

The seat was created in 2010, replacing the Vale of York, and is an affluent rural seat, with a high rate of homeowners and low employment.

The local economy consists mainly of agriculture and tourism.

Anne McIntosh (Conservative) won the seat for the first time in 2010 and is standing down for this election.

The 2010 Result:

Conservative: 20,167 (52.0%)

Lib Dems: 8,886 (23.3%)

Labour: 5,169 (13.6%)

UKIP: 2,502 (6.6%)

Liberal: 1,418 (3.7%)

Majority: 11,281 (29.6%)

The 2015 Candidates:

Kevin Holinrake (Conservative)

Alan Avery (Labour)

Dinah Keal (Lib Dem)

Toby Horton (UKIP)

Chris Newsam (Green)

John Clark (The Liberal Party)

Philip Tate (Independent)