The Yorkshire Dales National Park is increasing its boundaries by nearly a quarter to include part of Lancashire and a larger part of Cumbria.

The boundary extension, announced by Environment Secretary Elizabeth Truss in October 2015, means the area covered by the National Park will increase by 24 per cent from 680 sq miles (1,762 sq km) to 41 sq miles (2,179 sq km) on August 1.

National Park Authority Chairman Carl Lis said:

Being in a national park has many benefits, not least to the conservation of the landscape and the boost to the local economies that national park status can bring with it.

Carl Lis

The new boundary for the Yorkshire Dales National Park will include the Orton Fells, the northern Howgill Fells, Wild Boar Fell and Mallerstang to the north and, to the west, Barbon, Middleton, Casterton and Leck Fell, the River Lune, and part of Firbank Fell and other fells to the west of the River Lune.

Currently, 12 per cent of the Yorkshire Dales National Park is in Cumbria. That figure will increase to 27 per cent on August 1 and, for the first time, one per cent will be in Lancashire too. The National Park population is currently around 20,000 and this will rise to around 24,000.

The Lake District National Park will be extended on the same day to take in an area from Birkbeck Fells Common to Whinfell Common to the east and an area from Helsington Barrows to Sizergh Fell, an area north of Sizergh Castle and part of the Lyth valley to the south.