1. ITV Report

General Election 2017: An at-a-glance guide of how your constituency voted

A total of 37 seats were up for grabs in the North East and North Yorks Credit: PA

Only two of the 37 seats in the North East and North Yorkshire changed hands in the General Election.

The Conservatives gained Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland from Labour while Labour won Stockton South from the conservatives, This means that - as in 2015 - of the 37 seats 27 are held by Labour and 10 by Conservatives.

Here is the full list at a glance:

County Durham:

  • Bishop Auckland: Lab Hold
  • City of Durham: Lab Hold
  • Darlington: Lab Hold
  • Easington: Lab Hold
  • North Durham: Lab Hold
  • North West Durham: Lab Hold
  • Sedgefield: Lab Hold


  • Berwick-upon-Tweed: Con Hold
  • Blyth Valley: Lab Hold
  • Hexham: Con Hold
  • Wansbeck: Lab Hold

North Yorkshire:

  • Harrogate and Knaresborough: Con Hold
  • Richmond: Con Hold
  • Scarborough and Whitby: Con Hold
  • Selby and Ainsty: Con Hold
  • Skipton and Ripon: Con Hold
  • Thirsk and Malton: Con Hold
  • York Central: Lab Hold
  • York Outer: Lab Hold

Tees Valley:

  • Hartlepool: Lab Hold
  • Middlesbrough: Lab Hold
  • Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland: Con Gain
  • Redcar: Labour Hold
  • Stockton North: Lab Hold
  • Stockton South: Lab Gain

Tyne and Wear:

  • Blaydon: Lab Hold
  • Gateshead: Lab Hold
  • Houghton and Sunderland South: Lab Hold
  • Jarrow: Lab Hold
  • Newcastle Central: Lab Hold
  • Newcastle East: Lab Hold
  • Newcastle North: Lab Hold
  • North Tyneside: Lab Hold
  • South Shields: Lab Hold
  • Sunderland Central: Lab Hold
  • Tynemouth: Lab Hold
  • Washington and Sunderland West: Lab Hold

More on this story