Latest results: Local elections 2017

Latest results and reaction following local elections in North Yorkshire, Durham, Northumberland, North Tyneside and in the Tees Valley for its first Metro Mayor

Live updates

Labour hold Durham County Council

Labour hold Durham County Council Credit: PA

Labour held County Durham but lost 22 seats.

Labour maintained their overwhelming majority, with 74 seats - down from 94.

The Conservatives gained six of those seats, Liberal Democrats five while 11 went to independent candidates.

Full result:

  • Labour - 74
  • Independent - 28
  • Liberal Democrats - 14
  • Conservatives - 10


Norma Redfearn re-elected as Mayor for North Tyneside

Norma Redfearn, Labour, has been elected as Mayor of North Tyneside Credit: ITV Tyne Tees

Labour's Norma Redfearn has been re-elected as Mayor of North Tyneside.

A total of 52,921 voters turned out (34.25%) and Ms Redfearn was elected with 29,655 (56%) votes.

Full results:

  • Norma Redfearn, Labour - 29,655
  • Stewart Hay, Conservative - 16,164 votes
  • John Appleby, Liberal Democrats - 3,537
  • Stuart Houghton, UKIP - 3,248

Norma Redfearn has been the Mayor for North Tyneside since 2013.

There were no elections for ward councillors on this occasion so the political make up of North Tyneside Council remains as:

  • Labour: 51
  • Conservative: 7
  • Liberal Democrat: 2

Counting underway for North Tyneside Mayoral election

Votes are being counted with a result expected around midday. Credit: ITV Tyne Tees

Counting is underway to determine the next Mayor of North Tyneside.

Votes are being counted with a result expected around midday.

The candidates are:

  • Liberal Democrats - John Appleby
  • UKIP - Stuart Houghton
  • Labour - Norma Redfearn
  • Conservative - Stewart Hay
Overall turnout for the vote .
Total number of verified ballot papers.


Straw draw denies Conservatives control of Northumberland County Council

A straw draw has denied the conservatives overall majority in the Northumberland County Council election.

A total of 34 seats out of a possible 66 are required for a party to claim total control of the council.

After several hours of counting and verifying votes, the results were as follows:

  • Conservatives - 33 seats
  • Labour - 25 seats
  • Independent candidates - 5 seats
  • Liberal Democrats - 2 seats

With 33 seats, the Conservatives only needed one more to claim total control of the council.

South Blyth was the final seat to be decided.

After two recounts it was confirmed that Conservative candidate Daniel Carr and Liberal Democrats hopeful Lesley Rickerby received an equal amount of votes, resulting in a draw.

A draw of lots was done to decide which party would win the South Blyth seat.

Liberal Democrats won.

Ms Rickerby called the experience "very traumatic" and said she was in no rush to repeat what had happened.

"It's unbelievable that when you consider we have a democratic service that we end up having to draw straws," she said.

"It was very traumatic and I certainly would have preferred it to be a majority, but the way our system works, after a couple of recounts, we had no choice.

"The returning officer decides if we would flip a coin or draw straws and he went with straws.

"I felt if I did it I was choosing my own destiny but I cannot deny it was very traumatic.

"When you enjoy doing something like representing people I would have been very disappointed to lose it that way.

"I'm certainly don't want to do that again in a hurry, it really was the last straw."

Election results: What to expect

A number of results are due to be announced today following elections in parts of the region.

  • A new Metro Mayor will be announced for the Tees Valley, with responsibilities across the boroughs of Hartlepool, Darlington, Stockton and Middlesbrough along with Redcar and Cleveland. The result is expected early afternoon
  • Final results in the Northumberland County Council elections are expected this morning
  • North Tyneside Mayoral election results are expected at lunchtime
  • Durham County Council local election results are due early afternoon
  • North Yorkshire County Council local election results are due early afternoon

Labour hold Hartlepool council seat

Labour's Mike McLaughlin has won the Headland & Habour seat on Hartlepool Borough Council, narrowly beating the UKIP candidate by 23 votes.

It follows the recent resignation of Councillor Sylvia Tempest (Labour).

The full result is as follows:

  • Chris Broadbent, Local Conservatives - 210 votes
  • Tom Cassidy, UK Independence Party (UKIP) - 532 votes
  • Mike McLaughlin, Labour Party - 555 votes
  • Lucy Patterson, Independent - 69 votes

The current make-up of Hartlepool Council is now Labour (19), UKIP (6), Independent (3), Local Conservatives (3) and Putting Hartlepool First (2).

The turnout for the by-election was 24.4%.

Load more updates Back to top

Latest ITV News reports