Live updates


Shadow Chancellor brings Labour economic message to Tyneside

Labour's Shadow Chancellor, John McDonnell MP, has spoken at an economic conference in Newcastle.

He was joined by Shadow Transport Secretary and Middlesbrough MP Andy McDonald, and Shadow Industrial Strategy Minister and Newcastle Central MP Chi Onwurah.

This event forms part of a series of public economics conferences that Labour's Shadow Treasury team will be holding around Britain over the next year.

Lib Dems offer 'home' to unhappy Labour MPs

The Liberal Democrat leader Tim Farron says unhappy Labour MPs in the North East should defect to his party, if Jeremy Corbyn is re-elected.

Mr Farron made the call at the Lib Dem conference in Brighton saying his party was a natural home for disillusioned Labour politicians.

But he admitted to ITV News Political Correspondent Daniel Hewitt that so far, none had shown any interest in jumping ship:


Bridget Phillipson backs Angela Eagle bid

Angela Eagle launches Labour leadership bid Credit: PA

Houghton and Sunderland South MP Bridget Phillipson has backed Angela Eagle's bid to become the next Labour leader.

Ms Eagle launched her bid to oust Jeremy Corbyn on Monday.

Sunderland Central MP Julie Elliott is part of her campaign team and other North East MPs were at the launch to give their backing - including Houghton and Sunderland South MP Bridget Phillipson.

South Tyneside Council: Labour HOLD

Labour has taken all 18 seats up for grabs this time on South Tyneside Council.

Three new faces joined the Council.

These were:

**Joan Margaret Keegan who was elected as the new Labour councillor for the Monkton ward.

**Liz McHugh who represents Labour in the Hebburn North ward

**Labour Councillor David Townsley who takes over from Conservative Councillor Jeff Milburn in the Cleadon and East Boldon ward.

The new political make-up of the Council is:

Labour - 53

Independent – Putting People First party - 1

  • The overall turnout was 33.8 per cent, compared to 58.8 per cent in 2015
  • 38835 votes were cast out of a total electorate of 114981.
Load more updates