1. National

Banned Suarez up for award

Footballer Luis Suarez, who received a 10-match ban for biting Branislav Ivanovic at Chelsea last week, is nominated for the Players Football Association (PFA) Player of the Year.

View all 57 updates ›

Luis Suarez 10 game ban among longest in football

The 10-game ban for Luis Suarez is arguably harsher than the eight-match suspension handed to him in December 2011 for racially abusing Manchester United's Patrice Evra.

The ban for biting is significantly more than the four-game ban given to Chelsea captain John Terry last year for racist abuse.

Liverpool's Luis Suarez shows his dejection after a missed chance during the Barclays Premier League match at Anfield, Liverpool in April. Credit: Martin Rickett/PA Wire/Press Association Images

QPR midfielder Joey Barton was given a 12-game ban last season for a red card and violent conduct towards three players.

In 2006, the FA banned Manchester City's Ben Thatcher for eight matches for an elbow incident that left Portsmouth's Pedro Mendes unconscious.

Eric Cantona's kung fu kick on a fan in 1995 saw the Frenchman and Manchester United striker banned for nine months.

Manchester United's Rio Ferdinand was banned in 2003 for eight months after missing a drugs test.

More on this story