Sports Personality 2013 short list announced

Andy Murray is the clear bookmakers' favourite to win the award. Credit: PA

The BBC has announced the short list for its 2013 Sports Personality of the Year award.

Ben Ainslie: Helped Team USA come from behind to win the America's Cup sailing competition

Ian Bell: Scored three centuries as England beat Australia in the summer's Ashes

Hannah Cockroft: Won T34 100m and 200m titles at the IPC Athletics World Championships

Mo Farah: Won 5,000m and 10,000m world titles in Moscow

Chris Froome: Won the Tour de France cycling title

AP McCoy: Jockey won his 4,000th career race

Leigh Halfpenny: Named player of the series for the Lions in Australia and Six Nations play of the year as Wales retained the title

Andy Murray: Ended Britain's 77-year wait for a men's singles champion at Wimbledon

Christine Ohuruogo: Won 400m world title in Moscow

Justin Rose: Became first British winner of golf's US Open for 43 years