UK expands warning on 'all but essential' travel to Kenya

The UK has expanded its travel warning to cover most areas along the coast of Kenya.

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office has advised people against "all but essential" travel to within 15km (nine miles) of the coast, from the Tana River down to Tiwi.

The government has expanded its travel warnings for Kenya Credit: FCO

This area includes Mombasa Island, Moi International Airport, Malindi, Kilifi and Watamu, but does not cover Diani.

The warning also covers areas within 60km (37 miles) of the Kenya-Somalia border, Garissa County and the Eastleigh area of Nairobi.

There are no travel warnings against any of Kenya's popular safari destinations in the national parks, including Masai Mara, Laikipia and the Aberdare National Park.