West Indies win Women's World T20 final

West Indies ended Australia's stranglehold on the Women's World Twenty20, claiming their maiden title with an eight-wicket win at Eden Gardens.

Australia lifted the trophy in 2010, 2012 and 2014 but could not defend 148 for five as 18-year-old Hayley Matthews (66) and captain Stafanie Taylor (59) shared a decisive 120-run partnership.

Both fell before the end but Deandra Dottin and Britney Cooper ensured their work did not go unrewarded, scrambling a winning two after Megan Schutt's attempted close-range run out missed the stumps and went for an overthrow.

They were joined in ecstatic on-field celebrations by members of the West Indian men's team, who had arrived early for their own final against England to support from the boundary edge.