1. National

Labour secure fifth successive term at Welsh Assembly

The Labour Party is preparing for a fifth successive Welsh Assembly term after winning 29 seats from a possible 60 following the declaration of the last result - in an election which also saw UKIP claim its place in the Senedd for the first time ever.

View all 8 updates ›

Ukip wins first seats in Welsh Assembly

Ukip has won the party's first seats in the Welsh Assembly, with five members elected.

Nathan Gill and Michelle Brown were selected for the North Wales regional list, Mark Reckless and David Rowlands were elected in in South Wales East, while Caroline Jones won a seat in South Wales West.

Leader Nigel Farage recalled surviving a plane crash six years ago as he hailed the party's gains on Twitter.

Farage suffered serious injuries in the accident, which happened as he fought an unsuccessful bid to become MP for Buckingham. He later made a full recovery.

Ukip was opposed to the Assembly's existence until 2013.

Labour remains on course to retain power in the Senedd for a fifth successive term.

More on this story