1. National

UK attacks Russian support for Syria regime after US airstrikes

The UK government has attacked Russia's role in alliance with the Syria regime as international tensions continue in the aftermath of the suspected chemical attack and retaliatory US airstrikes.

Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson has pulled out of a visit to Moscow saying "we deplore Russia's continued defence of the Assad regime".

Defence Secretary Sir Michael Fallon has said Russia is responsible for "every civilian death" in Bashar Assad's suspected sarin attack on his own people.

US President Donald Trump has meanwhile written to both chambers of Congress justifying his decision to launch the retaliation strikes.

US senator John McCain has told ITV News the US and its allies must add momentum to Mr Trump's intervention by working to force President Assad out.

View all 42 updates ›

20 Labour MPs call for Syrian no-fly zone

An ambulance rushes to the scene of the chemical attack in Syria Credit: PA

Labour MPs have called for a Syrian no-fly zone enforced by the British navy, with strikes against planes dropping illegal weapons.

A statement released by the MPs says "for too long, the international community has stood back and done nothing", and that immediate action must now be taken.

"In the short term, an internationally-led no-fly zone should be set up in Idlib province as soon as possible to prevent further civilian deaths," the statement says.

"In addition, whilst DFID’s support for refugees in Lebanon and Jordan is welcome, we, and other European countries, must take our fair share of Syrian refugees too, something this Government has so far failed to do."

The full list of the 20 MPs who have signed it:

  • Rachel Reeves MP, LCID Co-President
  • Alison McGovern MP, LCID VP
  • Gareth Thomas MP, LCID VP
  • Lord Jack McConnell, LCID VP
  • Stephen Doughty MP, LCID VP
  • Chris Leslie MP
  • David Lammy MP
  • John Woodcock MP
  • Liz Kendall MP
  • Luciana Berger MP
  • Maria Eagle MP
  • Mike Gapes MP
  • Neil Coyle MP
  • Ruth Smeeth MP
  • Stella Creasy MP
  • Tracy Brabin MP
  • Virendra Sharma MP
  • Wes Streeting MP

More on this story