New Zealand announce World Cup squad

Kane Williamson will captain the 15-man New Zealand squad Credit: PA

New Zealand have become the first country to name their squad for this summer's World Cup in England and Wales.

Kane Williamson will captain a 15-man Black Caps line-up who have a combined total of 1,000 one-day games at international level.

Ross Taylor is set to become the seventh New Zealander to play at four World Cups, with Williamson, Tim Southee and Martin Guptill each selected for the tournament for the third time. Wicketkeeper Tom Blundell, who is yet to play an ODI, is a surprise inclusion, while Ish Sodhi was selected ahead of Todd Astle for the leg-spinner spot.

Coach Gary Stead told "To represent your country at a World Cup is a huge honour and I know the entire squad and support staff are looking forward to the challenges ahead."

The competition begins with hosts England playing South Africa at The Oval on May 30, with 2015 runners-up New Zealand starting their campaign two days later against Sri Lanka in Cardiff.

New Zealand World Cup squad: Kane Williamson, Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin De Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.