Tyrone fall to defeat at hands of Mayo in Omagh

Mayo ran out the winners over Tyrone at Healy Park amid Sunday's Division 1 action. Credit: INPHO

Amid the weekend’s Allianz League action, Mickey Harte’s Tyrone side have lost out by 2-13 to 0-10 at the hands of Mayo at Healy Park in Omagh.

Sunday’s game saw Tyrone take the early lead, going two points ahead after just four minutes.

However, Mayo soon levelled things back up and, although Peter Harte added a point to briefly put Tyrone back in front, it was the Wee County that forged ahead.

Mayo's Fionn McDonagh celebrates scoring a goal against Tyrone. Credit: INPHO

By half-time, Mayo led 1-07 to 0-03, with Keith Higgins the goal scorer.

Tyrone had it all to do it the second half, but couldn’t stop Mayo continuing to extend their lead.

Fionn McDonagh provided their second goal of the game and the Red Hands were unable to make up the ground.

Elsewhere in Division 1, Monaghan were beaten by Roscommon by 1-12 to 0-13 and Cavan lost out by 0-13 to 0-16 at the hands of Kerry.

The Farney County were first on the scoreboard, but trailed by two points at half-time.

However, they were back in it after the break, when points from Conor McCarthy and Conor McManus drew them level.

The lead changed hands a number of times throughout that second half, and Monaghan led by 0-12 to 0-11 when Enda Smith provided that crucial goal for Roscommon.

Roscommon's Ronan Daly and Tadgh O'Rourke celebrate at the full-time whistle. Credit: INPHO

In Division 2, Armagh had to settle for a 1-13 to 2-10 draw with Clare at Páirc Esler in Newry.

Meanwhile, Fermanagh also drew 2-05 to 2-05 with Tipperary in Thurles and a goal proved the difference in Kildare’s 1-10 to 0-10 win over Cork at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

It came after Saturday’s action which saw Donegal beat Meath by 1-13 to 0-14 at Ballybofey.

In Sunday’s Division 3 action, Down won out 1-12 to 1-10 over Sligo, while Longford drew 1-06 to 0-09 with Offaly.

Derry were among the Division 4 winners, defeating London by 0-19 to 1-09.

Limerick beat Waterford by 1-13 to 0-10, while Leitrim were the 1-16 to 1-12 winners over Wicklow, and Antrim lost out 1-10 to 0-09 to Wexford.