Cold weather payments extended to 12 more areas in Aldergrove weather station area

Radiators in Russia
Credit: Ulf Mauder/DPA/PA Images
Dated: 13 September 2021 
Russia, Moskau: An employee in an office in the Russian capital holds her hand to a radiator to check whether it is cold or hot. (to dpa-KORR: "Debate about explosions in Russia: When heating with the gas stove kills") Photo: Ulf Mauder/dpa
The Aldergrove weather station area is the latest extension of cold weather payments as sub-zero temperatures continue to hit the country. Credit: PA Images

Cold weather payments have been extended to 12 more postcodes in the Aldergrove weather station area after the Met Office notified the Department for Communities.

Earlier, cold weather payments were extended to 11 postcodes in the Castlederg and Thomastown areas, as temperatures remain at freezing point and below in some areas.

These extensions bring the total number of areas affected by the payment over the past week to 31.

The £25 payments will be made automatically to eligible people in the following postcodes so there is no need to make a claim.

When the average temperature is, or is forecast to be, zero degrees or below for seven consecutive days, the Met Office notifies the Department for Communities triggering cold weather payments.

In Aldergrove, the eligible postcodes are BT27, BT28, BT29 and BT39, BT40, BT41, BT42, BT43, BT44, BT45, BT46 and BT80.

In Castlederg, the eligible postcodes are BT78, BT79, BT81, BT82.

In Thomastown, the station postcode areas are: BT74, BT75, BT76, BT77, BT92, BT93 and BT94.

Last week, cold weather payments were triggered for eight postcodes in the Katesbridge weather station area: BT24, BT25, BT26 and BT30, BT31, BT32, BT33 and BT34.

Customers in the Aldergrove, Castlederg and Thomastown postcode areas can expect to receive their payment by Wednesday, 21 December 2022.

Want a quick and expert briefing on the biggest news stories? Listen to our latest podcasts to find out What You Need To Know.