NI Assembly Election 2017

The final results in the NI Assembly election are in with all 90 MLAs elected and the DUP still the largest party with 28, but Sinn Féin having polled well with just one less MLA.

View all 41 updates ›

Election claims another high-profile scalp in UUP’s Kennedy

Senior UUP politician Danny Kennedy, pictured at the count centre. Credit: Pacemaker

Another high-profile politician has lost their seat in the Northern Ireland Assembly, with the UUP’s Danny Kennedy missing out.

Sinn Féin’s Conor Murphy claimed the fifth and final seat in the Newry and Armagh constituency, at the expense of Mr Kennedy.

The veteran politician had been an MLA since 1998 and had previously held ministerial portfolios.

He had served as Employment and Learning Minister and, more recently, as Regional Development Minister from 2011 to 2015.

Mr Kennedy joins the SDLP’s Alex Attwood in losing a long-held seat.

Sorry, this content isn't available on your device.

More on this story