NI Assembly Election 2017

The final results in the NI Assembly election are in with all 90 MLAs elected and the DUP still the largest party with 28, but Sinn Féin having polled well with just one less MLA.

View all 41 updates ›

First high-profile casualty as SDLP’s Attwood loses seat

Former SDLP minister Alex Attwood. Credit: Presseye

The Northern Ireland Assembly election has claimed its first high-profile casualty, with the SDLP’s Alex Attwood losing his seat in West Belfast.

The politician had been an MLA since 1998 and had previously held ministerial portfolios.

Mr Attwood served as Social Development Minister and then, more recently, as Environment Minister from 2011 to 2013.

  • SDLP's Nichola Mallon reacts to Alex Attwood losing his Assembly seat.

More on this story