NI Assembly Election 2017

The final results in the NI Assembly election are in with all 90 MLAs elected and the DUP still the largest party with 28, but Sinn Féin having polled well with just one less MLA.

View all 41 updates ›

New UUP leader to be chosen at April AGM

  • WATCH: Danny Kinahan on the hunt for a new UUP leader

A new Ulster Unionist leader will be chosen at the party’s AGM on 8 April, but MP Danny Kinahan has told UTV they are not just drifting in the meantime.

Mike Nesbitt tendered his resignation as UUP leader following a disastrous election for the party.

While he was returned to his Strangford seat, the party suffered big losses elsewhere – including senior representative Danny Kennedy and the likes of Sandra Overend and Jo-Anne Dobson.

The UUP is also no longer the third largest party at Stormont, having only secured 10 seats and falling behind the SDLP with their 12 MLAs.

Mr Nesbitt had said he would remain post until a successor could be decided and, on Sunday, Mr Kinahan confirmed that was the case.

“Mike Nesbitt is still there as the leader,” the UUP MP said.

“Yesterday, they sat down immediately as soon as they could after the election – they’ve got Tom Elliott leading the negotiations … No, we’re not drifting, but we’ve got a lot of work to do.”

More on this story