1. ITV Report

Results due for Wales' four new police commissioners

The four police forces in Wales will have new Police and Crime Commissioners Photo: ITV News Wales

Four new Police and Crime Commissioners - one for each of Wales' forces - are due to be announced today. Ballots will be counted from 9am. Polls closed at 10pm last night, after a day of voting.

The new commissioners will replace police authorities and will set out local policing priorities, decide how forces' budgets should be spent, and have the power to appoint and dismiss Chief Constables. The victorious candidates, for Dyfed-Powys, Gwent, North Wales and South Wales Police, will start work on 22 November.

It's an idea introduced by the coalition government in Westminster, which says the new system will make the police more accountable to the public, by introducing a democratic vote for choosing commissioners.

It has been controversial though, with turnout expected to be very low.

Here are the full list of candidates:


Christine Gwyther - LabourChristoper Salmon - ConservativeGwent

Ian Johnston - IndependentHamish Sandison - LabourNick Webb - ConservativeChris Wright - IndependentNorth Wales

Richard Hibbs - IndependentColm McCabe - ConservativeTal Michael - LabourWarwick Nicholson - UKIPWinston Roddick - IndependentSouth Wales

Mike Baker - IndependentCaroline Jones - ConservativeAlun Michael - LabourTony Verdame - Independent

As well as the commissioners elected for Wales' four forces, elections are also being held for 37 police force areas in England. The ITV News website will have continued coverage of all of the results.

More on this story