Plaid Cymru leader Leanne Wood named Welsh Politician of the Year

Each winner received a cartoon by Mumph as their prize Credit: Mumph

It was a good night for the Rhondda at the annual Welsh Political Awards, held tonight at Cardiff City Hall.

Politician of the Year went to Leanne Wood for her performance on a UK wide stage at the ITV election debate, with a particularly memorable clash with Nigel Farage.

MP of the Year went to the Rhondda's MP, Chris Bryant, who as Shadow Leader of the House of Commons had a particularly notable victory in getting the Prime Minister to restate the Wilson Doctrine.

It had emerged that the security services no longer felt bound by Harold Wilson's ruling that they can't intercept communications with MPs.

The full list of winners was:

  • Politician of the Year: Leanne Wood AM

  • MP of the Year: Chris Bryant MP

  • AM of the Year: Kirsty Williams AM

  • Campaigner of the Year: Byron Davies MP

  • Member to Watch: Nick Thomas-Symonds MP

The winners were chosen by a panel of journalists and individuals with party connections, chaired by the Editor of the Wales Yearbook Online, Dr Denis Balsom. Later this evening the event will conclude with the announcement of this year's Lifetime Achievement Award.