1. ITV Report

Six Nations 2018: Wales make seven changes for France clash

Wales head coach Warren Gatland has made seven changes to the starting line-up for Saturday's NatWest 6 Nations finale against France in Cardiff.

Dan Biggar returns to the starting line-up at fly-half for the France game. Credit: PA

Captain Alun Wyn Jones returns to captain the side after being rested for last weekend's victory over Italy, while the likes of full-back Leigh Halfpenny, centre Scott Williams, fly-half Dan Biggar and flanker Josh Navidi also feature.

Victory for Wales - they are unbeaten at home against France since 2010 - is likely to secure the Six Nations runners-up spot behind champions Ireland.

Saturday is a huge opportunity for us to finish the campaign well, at home in front of our fans.

France will be coming to Cardiff in good spirits after their victory over England last weekend so it is set to be a huge encounter.

There have been some tough selection calls, but that is exactly what we want, we want to be in a position where there are selections and decisions to be made and we have had to make some tough ones this weekend.

We have picked a team and a squad we believe can deliver this weekend against France.

– Warren Gatland, Wales Head Coach

Biggar returns in the number 10 shirt, taking over from Gareth Anscombe after the 38-14 win against Italy.

Williams, meanwhile, is in for Owen Watkin, with prop Rob Evans and hooker Ken Owens also returning to action.

There is no place in the starting XV for blindside flanker Aaron Shingler, though, with Justin Tipuric continuing at number six alongside back-row colleagues Navidi and Taulupe Faletau.

Exeter prop Tomas Francis is retained, with Samson Lee, who missed the Italy game due to illness, named among the replacements on a bench that also includes Anscombe, Shingler and Scarlets wing Steff Evans.

Walss team to face France:

Halfpenny; North, S Williams, Parkes, L Williams; Biggar, G Davies; R Evans, Owens, Francis, Hill, A W Jones, Tipuric, Faletau, Navidi.

Replacements: Dee, Smith, Lee, B Davies, Shingler, A Davies, Anscombe, S Evans.

More on this story