Welsh Labour MPs call for no confidence vote

Credit: PA

A number of senior Welsh Labour politicians have signed a letter urging their party's UK leader, Jeremy Corbyn, to table a vote of no confidence in the Prime Minister’s government.

The letter was sent following Theresa May’s decision on Monday to defer the crunch Commons vote on the EU Withdrawal Agreement in the face of a "significant" defeat.

MPs Tonia Antoniazzi, Chris Bryant, Madeleine Moon, Geraint Davies, Susan Elan Jones and Owen Smith are among the 40 signatories to the letter to Jeremy Corbyn - along with Labour peer Lord Hain.

Mrs May is in Europe ahead of a pre-arranged EU summit on Thursday and Friday in a bid to get new reassurances over the backstop arrangements for the Irish border.

Mr Corbyn has joined Plaid Cymru's Liz Saville Roberts, Liberal Democrat leader Vince Cable, the SNP's Ian Blackford and co-leader of the Greens Caroline Lucas to sign a letter demanding assurances from Mrs May on what happens next.

Stephen Kinnock tweeted on Monday: "Time for my party to table a No Confidence motion - it's either us or the SNP!"