1. ITV Report

33 Welsh MPs voted against Prime Minister Theresa May's Brexit deal

Credit: Parliament

The Brexit meaningful vote is the biggest defeat of a government on record.

Thirty-three Welsh MPs voted against the Prime Minister Theresa May's Brexit deal, including Nick Smith who was a teller.

Six MPs voted in favour of Theresa May's deal, all of whom are Conservatives.

Newport West MP, Paul Flynn did not vote because he is seriously ill. Credit: PA

There were two Tory rebels, Brexiteer David Jones and Guto Bebb.

Guto Bebb MP wants a People's Vote. Credit: PA
  • How Welsh MPs voted:


Tonia Antoniazzi, Gower - NO

Kevin Brennan, Cardiff West - NO

Chris Bryant, Rhondda - NO

Ann Clwyd, Cynon Valley - NO

Wayne David, Caerphilly - NO

Geraint Davies, Swansea West - NO

Stephen Doughty, Cardiff South and Penarth - NO

Chris Elmore, Ogmore - NO

Chris Evans, Islwyn - NO

Paul Flynn, Newport West - DID NOT VOTE

Nia Griffith, Llanelli - NO

David Hanson, Delyn - NO

Carolyn Harris, Swansea East - NO

Gerald Jones, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney - NO

Susan Elan Jones, Clwyd South - NO

Stephen Kinnock, Aberavon - NO

Ian Lucas, Wrexham - NO

Anna McMorrin, Cardiff North - NO

Madeleine Moon, Bridgend - NO

Jessica Morden, Newport East - NO

Albert Owen, Ynys Mon - NO

Christina Rees, Neath - NO

Chris Ruane, Vale of Clwyd - NO

Nick Smith, Blaenau Gwent - NO

Owen Smith, Pontypridd - NO

Jo Stevens, Cardiff Central - NO

Mark Tami, Alyn and Deeside - NO

Nick Thomas-Symonds, Torfaen - NO


Guto Bebb, Aberconwy - NO

Alun Cairns, Vale of Glamorgan - AYE

Stephen Crabb, Preseli Pembrokeshire - AYE

Christopher Davies, Brecon and Radnorshire - AYE

Glyn Davies, Montgomeryshire - AYE

David TC Davies Monmouth - AYE

Simon Hart, Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire - AYE

David Jones, Clwyd West - NO

Plaid Cymru:

Jonathan Edwards, Carmarthen East and Dinefwr - NO

Ben Lake, Ceredigion - NO

Liz Saville-Roberts, Dwyfor Meirionnydd - NO

Hywel Williams, Arfon - NO

Following the vote, Welsh Secretary Alun Cairns MP told our political editor, Adrian Masters, that the government must 'reach out to other parties' to move forward: