1. ITV Report

Eleven candidates will contest Newport West by-election

Credit: PA

Eleven candidates will contest the Newport West by-election in an attempt to succeed the veteran Labour MP Paul Flynn, who died last month.

In the 2017 General Election he had a majority of 5,658 over his Conservative opponent.

The eleven people trying to succeed him are:

  • Jonathan Clark -Plaid Cymru
  • June Davies -Renew Party
  • Matthew Evans -Conservative
  • Neil Hamilton -UKIP
  • Ruth Jones -Labour
  • Ryan Jones -Liberal Democrat
  • Ian McLean -Social Democratic Party
  • Hugh Nicklin -The For Britain Movement
  • Richard Suchorzewski -Abolish the Welsh Assembly
  • Phillip Taylor -Democrats and Veterans Party
  • Amelia Womack -Green Party

The constituency has traditionally been a two-party contest since it was created in 1983 and won by the Conservatives.

They lost the seat to Paul Flynn in 1987 and he held it for Labour until his death at the age of 84. Newport West was seen as a Tory target in the 2017 General Election but the party's campaign to win the seat faded as it slipped in the polls.

Paul Flynn was an MP for 32 years Credit: PA Images

This time round, much will depend on how much of Paul Flynn's strong personal following will stay with Labour.

It is likely to be an election fought mostly on local issues with Brexit also likely to play a part.

The UK is due to leave the European Union on March 29 - less than a week before Newport West goes to the polls.