Wales captain Alun Wyn Jones has been announced as the 2019 Guinness Six Nations Player of the Championship.

Second-row Jones captained his side to victory, beating out all opposition in this year’s Championship and securing Wales’s first Grand Slam since 2012.

The tournament began with a comeback win versus France in Paris before Wales continued with a series of dominant performances.

Victories followed against Italy, England and Scotland, and finally against the title holders Ireland at Principality Stadium to cap off an impressive Grand Slam Championship.

Alun Wyn celebrating Wales' win over Ireland with his youngest daughter Credit: PA Images

“I’m very flattered to be named the Guinness Six Nations Player of the Championship. For me as the captain, it’s a validation of what we’ve done as a squad throughout the campaign"

“To be up there as a nominee with three other Welsh players and two outstanding players from England would have been more than enough and I’m very grateful to the people who have taken the time to vote", he said.

Ahead of a public vote, a shortlist were chosen by an expert panel of from across the six participating countries. The shortlist was:

  • Alun Wyn Jones (Wales)

  • Hadleigh Parkes (Wales)

  • Josh Adams (Wales)

  • Liam Williams (Wales)

  • Jonny May (England)

  • Tom Curry (England)

Credit: PA Images

Alun Wyn capped a tour of Australia with the British & Irish Lions in 2013 by skippering the side to victory in the final Test in Sydney, bringing his total of Lions caps to six, adding to three won in South Africa in 2009.

He made first made his test debut in June 2006 against Argentina.

He is the world's most capped lock forward and Wales' joint most capped player alongside teammate Gethin Jenkins.