Carmarthen punk trio Adwaith win Welsh Music Prize

Welsh-language female band Adwaith have won the 2019 Welsh Music prize for their album Melyn.

The punk trio - Holly Singer, Gwenllian Anthony and Heledd Owen - beat 11 other artists to win the award.

The prize was co-founded by Radio 1's Huw Stephens and seeks to celebrate the best new music being made in Wales.

The awards have been running since 2011 and previous winners include Gwenno and Gruff Rhys.

Welsh Music prize nominees 2019:

  • Accü ­– Echo The Red

  • audiobooks – Now! (in a minute)

  • Carwyn Ellis – Joia!

  • Cate Le Bon – Reward

  • Deyah – Lover Loner

  • Estrons – You Say I’m Too Much I Say You’re Not Enough

  • HMS Morris – Inspirational Talks,

  • Lleuwen – Gwn Flan Beibl

  • Lucas J Rowe – Touchy Love

  • Mr – Oesoedd

  • Adwaith – Melyn

  • VRï – Tŷ ein Tadau