These are the countries that you can visit without having to self-isolate when you return to Wales

The countries exempt from quarantine rules will change as Government ministers make decisions to add or remove destinations based on the potential health risk to travellers. Credit: ITV Wales.

With travel restrictions lifting, many are eager to have that summer getaway or city break while they can.

Official advice from The Foreign & Commonwealth Office is still to only travel abroad if it is essential and people must self-isolate for two weeks when they come back to Wales. This means no leaving your home or the place you are staying for 14 days.

However, Welsh Government have created a list of countries exempt from that rule.

That means that people who do decide to travel abroad to certain countries, can return to Wales without having to quarantine.

The list is constantly being reviewed and updated, with countries being added and removed. Changes can be made with little notice and be warned, changes could be made while you are still on holiday so people are advised to check the list before their outward and return flights.

Locations are added and removed based on the health risk to travellers. This can be based on the number of coronavirus cases in a country.

For example, France was originally on the list published in early July but was removed on August 15. The UK Government's Transport Secretary, Grant Shapps, has also recently removed Denmark, Slovakia, Iceland and the Caribbean island of Curacao from the travel corridors. The Welsh Government have confirmed that people returning to Wales from those countries after 4am on Saturday must self-isolate for 14 days.

Travellers who have visited countries not included on the list, even for a transit stop, must self-isolate for 14 days.

The two-week period of isolation starts on the date you enter Wales. However, if you spend time immediately beforehand somewhere else in the UK or in another place on the exempt list, then you can discount the time spent there off from the 14 days.

The countries will be exempt from quarantining rules Credit: PA

The full list of countries people can travel to without having to self-isolate when they return to Wales:

  • Antigua and Barbuda

  • Australia

  • The Bahamas

  • Barbados

  • Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba

  • Brunei

  • Cuba

  • Cyprus

  • Dominica

  • Estonia

  • Faroe Islands

  • Fiji

  • Finland

  • Germany

  • Greece (except for Mykonos)

  • Greenland

  • Grenada

  • Guadeloupe

  • Hong Kong

  • Ireland

  • Japan

  • Latvia

  • Liechtenstein

  • Lithuania

  • Liechtenstein

  • Macau

  • Madeira

  • Malaysia

  • Mauritius

  • New Caledonia

  • New Zealand

  • Norway

  • Poland

  • Saint Barthélemy

  • Saint Kitts and Nevis

  • Saint Lucia

  • Saint Pierre and Miquelon

  • Seychelles

  • Singapore

  • Slovenia

  • South Korea

  • St Vincent and the Grenadines

  • Sweden

  • Taiwan

  • The Azores

  • Turkey

  • Vietnam

The list of territories you can travel to without having to self-isolate when you return to Wales:

  • The Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in the Island of Cyprus

  • Anguilla

  • Bermuda

  • British Antarctic Territory

  • British Indian Ocean Territory

  • British Virgin Islands

  • Cayman Islands

  • Channel Islands

  • Falkland Islands

  • The Isle of Man

  • Montserrat

  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands

  • Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha

  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands