How Welsh MPs voted on controversial NHS clause

MPs have rejected demands that the Trade bill was amended to protect the NHS from foreign control Credit: PA

MPs have voted against an amendment to the Trade Bill which its supporters claimed would have protected the NHS and publicly funded health and care services from any form of control from outside the UK.

Green Party MP Caroline Lucas put forward the amendment, New Clause 17, with the support of Labour leader Keir Starmer and a number of other senior opposition MPs.

As well as being claimed to protect the NHS from foreign control, New Clause 17 listed other measures to protect publicly funded health and care services including:

  • Providing a comprehensive publicly funded health service free at the point of delivery

  • Protecting the employment rights or terms and conditions of employment for public sector employees and those working in publicly funded health or care sectors

  • Regulating and maintaining the quality and safety of health or care services

  • Regulate and controlling the pricing and reimbursement systems for the purchase of medicines or medical devices

  • Regulating and maintaining the level of protection afforded in relation to patient data, public health data and publicly provided social care data relating to UK citizens

It was voted down by 340 votes to 251 in parliament last night.​ No Conservative MPs voted for the Labour amendment and no Labour MPs voted against it. Plaid Cymru MPs voted for the amendment.

Conwy councillor Aaron Wynne said: "The NHS should be a red-line in any post-Brexit trade deal. Our health service is the envy of the world, and we must all do what we can to protect it from overseas businesses who seek to turn a profit."

Was the weekly clapping for the NHS all in vain?

Cllr Aaron Wynne, Plaid Cymru

Trade Secretary Liz Truss MP said the services the NHS provides "will not be on the table".

List of MPs in Wales who voted against New Clause 17:

  • Sarah Atherton, Wrexham, Conservative

  • Alun Cairns, Vale of Glamorgan, Conservative

  • Stephen Crabb, Preseli Pembrokeshire, Conservative

  • David Davies, Monmouth, Conservative

  • Simon Hart, Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire, Conservative

  • David Jones, Clwyd West, Conservative

  • Simon Baynes, Clwyd South, Conservative

  • James Davies, Vale of Clwyd, Conservative

  • Fay Jones, Brecon and Radnorshire, Conservative

  • Robin Millar, Aberconwy, Conservative

  • Rob Roberts, Delyn, Conservative

  • Virginia Crosbie, Ynys Môn, Conservative

  • Craig Williams, Montgomeryshire, Conservative

Welsh Secretary Simon Hart voted against the amendment Credit: PA

List of MPs in Wales who voted for New Clause 17:

  • Tonia Antoniazzi, Gower, Labour

  • Kevin Brennan, Cardiff West, Labour

  • Chris Bryant, Rhondda, Labour

  • Stephen Kinnock, Aberavon, Labour

  • Ruth Jones, Newport West, Labour

  • Chris Elmore, Ogmore, Labour

  • Nia Griffith, Llanelli, Labour

  • Carolyn Harris, Swansea East, Labour

  • Gerald Jones, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney, Labour

  • Anna McMorrin, Cardiff North, Labour

  • Jessica Morden, Newport East, Labour

  • Nick Smith, Blaenau Gwent, Labour

  • Jo Stevens, Cardiff Central, Labour

  • Mark Tami, Alyn and Deeside, Labour

  • Nick Thomas-Symonds, Torfaen, Labour

  • Beth Winter, Cynon Valley, Labour

  • Christina Rees, Neath, Labour/Co-operative

  • Alex Davies-Jones, Pontypridd, Labour

  • Jonathan Edwards, Carmarthen East and Dinefwr

  • Ben Lake, Ceredigion, Plaid Cymru

  • Liz Saville Roberts, Dwyfor Meirionnydd, Plaid Cymru

  • Hywel Williams, Arfon, Plaid Cymru

One of the Welsh Conservatives who opposed the amendment, former Welsh Secretary David Jones, said "the Trade Bill is simply a continuity bill and does not affect future trade deals with third countries; the amendment was therefore at best misconceived and otiose".