Members of the Senedd to nominate Wales' First Minister in first post-election meeting

It will be the first post-election meeting in the Senedd. Credit: PA Images

Members of the Senedd will nominate Wales' First Minister on Wednesday with Mark Drakeford expected to continue in the role following Welsh Labour's election success.

The first plenary session of the sixth Senedd will meet four days after Mr Drakeford's party equalled its best-ever Welsh Parliament election result by winning 30 seats - leaving it just one short of an outright majority.

The first order of business for the Senedd's 60 MSs will be to elect a presiding officer - or Llywydd - as well as a deputy presiding officer - Dirprwy Llywydd - when proceedings start at 3pm.

Labour party members gather outside the Senedd ahead of the meeting.

Plaid Cymru's Elin Jones is said to be seeking re-election as Llywydd, which chairs sessions in the Senedd chamber.

MSs will then nominate a First Minister with Mr Drakeford set to remain as the head of the Welsh Government.

Labour holds half the parliament's seats and the Welsh Conservatives - the second largest party with 16 seats - are not expected to nominate its group leader Andrew RT Davies.

Conservative Members of the Senedd outside the Senedd ahead of the meeting to nominate Wales' First Minister.

If two Members are nominated, the one who secures the most votes cast will be declared the nominee for First Minister.

If more than two Members have been nominated, the one who secures more votes than are cast for all other candidates will be declared the nominee.

The new presiding officer will then announce the result to the Senedd, before recommending to the Queen that the nominated Member be formally appointed as First Minister.

Due to coronavirus restrictions, 20 MSs will attend the Senedd in person, while 40 others will appear remotely from nearby parliament offices.