Olympic and Paralympic heroes congratulated on Tokyo success at Senedd

Homecoming celebration for Welsh Olympians and Paralympians at the Senedd, home of the Welsh Parliament, on September 13, 2021 in Cardiff, Wales.
Credit: Matthew Horwood

Wales' Olympians and Paralympians have been congratulated on their achievements at the Tokyo 2020 games by politicians at the Senedd.

8 medals were won by Welsh athletes at the Olympics, with 14 at the Paralympics.

Olympic medalists Lauren Williams and Calum Jarvis were joined by Sarah Jones and Leah Wilkinson of the Team GB Hockey team as well as Paralympic Gold winner Aled Sion Davies and Bronze medallist Olivia Breem.

Almost a dozen other medallists, athletes and coaches were also in attendance, where the Llywydd of the Senedd and First Minister expressed how proud they were of the Welsh contingent.

Celebrating their success outside the Senedd. Credit: Matthew Horwood

Llywydd Elin Jones MS said, “Huge congratulations are in order for the Welsh athletes we have been so proud to see competing in Tokyo.

"Years of training, dedication and hard work led to a fantastic haul of medals in front of millions of global spectators and I was very glad to welcome some of them to the Senedd to celebrate their success.

"Seeing these athletes - people from communities across Wales - giving their all and providing us with excitement and unity after such a difficult 18 months was a fantastic sight. 

"Undoubtedly, they will have inspired the next generation to join today’s Olympians and Paralympians as part of Wales’ illustrious sporting history.”

Hockey players Sarah Jones and Leah Wilkinson speaking with the First Minister. Credit: Matthew Horwood

The First Minister Mark Drakeford said “These are stunning successes for a nation our size and show how we punch above our weight, time and again, when it comes to sporting success on the world stage. 

“Many of our athletes already have an eye on the Commonwealth Games next year in Birmingham.

"We will be watching with great interest, and wish them every success in that and future competitions.”