Council education boards named

The Education Minister has announced the setting-up of Independent Recovery Boards to take over failing education services in two councils. It follows critical reports into Merthyr Tydfil and Monmouthshire councils.

View all 8 updates ›

Monmouthshire recovery board named

The Independent Recovery board which will oversee improvements in education services in Monmouthshire has been announced. Its members are:

  • Mark James – Chief Executive of Carmarthenshire
  • Janet Jones – Principal Officer Youth & Community Neath Port Talbot Council
  • Rod Alcott – formerly with the Wales Audit Office
  • Jonathan Morgan – former Assembly Member

A senior official from the Welsh Government will chair the board on an interim basis while a permanent chair is appointed. The board will meet for the first time on June 27.

More top news