Wales Decides 2016: Results

The results for the Wales Assembly elections 2016.

View all 98 updates ›

Neil Hamilton is UKIP's new group leader

UKIP Wales has confirmed former conservative MP Neil Hamilton has been chosen as group leader of the party.

Neil Hamilton is the group leader of the seven UKIP AMs. Credit: ITV Cymru Wales

Under party rules, UK leader Nigel Farage appoints the party's Welsh leader - currently Nathan Gill - but the group leader is a separate post.

Mr Hamilton was understood to hold the support of at least three newly-elected UKIP Assembly Members.

More on this story