Green MEP to stand for Bristol West in general election

The Green Party in Bristol has today announced Molly Scott Cato MEP as their candidate to challenge for the Bristol West parliamentary seat.

Bristol West is widely considered to be one of the most winnable seats in the country for The Green Party. In 2015, their candidate achieved the greatest increase in the Green vote (23%) in any seat that election.

Molly is the current serving MEP for the South West.

The current MP for Bristol West is Labour's Thangam Debbonaire. She was voted in at the last General Election in 2015, ousting her Liberal Democrat predecessor, Stephen Williams.

Thangam Debbonaire, current Bristol West MP Credit: ITV News

Bristol Green Party's candidates for the other Bristol seats are

  • Tony Dyer for Bristol South

  • Sharmila Bousa for Bristol North West

  • Lorraine Francis for Bristol East.

Molly Scott Cato with Bristol Mayor Marvin Rees in Brussels Credit: ITV News

Jonathan Bartley, the Co-Leader of The Green Party was in Bristol to make the announcement.