1. ITV Report

Scores from the West Country named in New Year honours list

The list of New Year Honours has been released by the Queen Credit: PA

The New Year honours list has been released and it features a number of names from our region.


Don McCullin, Steve Webb and David Ord have all been awarded a knighthood Credit: PA and University of Bristol
  • Donald McCullin, CBE, Photojournalist. For services to photography (Somerset)
  • David Ord. For political service and service to the community in the South West (Bristol)
  • The Rt Hon Steven John Webb. For political and public service


Adventurer David Hempleman-Adams from Box in Wiltshire Credit: PA
  • Dr David Hempleman-Adams, LVO, OBE. For services to The Duke of Edinburgh's Award Scheme


  • Mrs Mary Prior, MBE. Lord-Lieutenant of the County and City of Bristol


Clockwise from top right - Roger Pope, Prof Janice Kay, Charlotte Dujardin, Prof Michael Depledge, Prof Steven West and Dr Andrew Garrad Credit: ITV News, PA, Exeter Uni, Bristol Uni
  • Professor Michael Depledge. Chair of Environment and Human Health, University of Exeter Medical School. For services to the environment and human health (Devon)
  • Ms Charlotte Dujardin, OBE. For services to equestrianism (Gloucestershire)
  • Dr Andrew Garrad. For services to renewable energy (Bristol)
  • Robert Gilbert. Chair, Intellectual Property Office. For services to the legal profession and the economy (Dartmouth)
  • Professor Janice Kay. Provost and Senior Deputy vice-Chancellor, University of Exeter. For services to higher education (Exeter)
  • Roger Pope. Chief Executive Officer, Academies South West Multi Academy Trust and Executive Principal, Kingsbridge Community College. For services to education (Totnes)
  • Professor Steven West. Vice-Chancellor, University of the West of England. For services to higher education (Bristol)


Tim Hollingsworth, Anne Dunham and Peter Reed Credit: PA
  • Mrs Diane Aderyn. Director of Finance and Commercial Services, University of Bath. For services to higher education (Bradford on Avon)
  • Mrs Teresa Ann Cooper. Grade 7, Ministry of Defence. For services to Defence Acquisition (Portishead)
  • Charles Counsell. Executive director, Automatic Enrolment, The Pensions Regulator. For services to workplace pension reform (Yeovil)
  • Ms Anne Dunham, MBE. For services to para-equestrianism (Devizes)
  • Ms Ciara Eastell. Formerly president, Society of Chief Librarians. For services to public libraries (Exeter)
  • Professor Gene Feder. General Practitioner, Helios Medical Centre Bristol and Professor of Primary Care, University of Bristol. For services to healthcare and victims of domestic abuse (Bristol)
  • Timothy Hollingsworth. Chief Executive Officer, British Paralympic Association. For services to sport (Bath)
  • John Lelliott. Formerly interim Chief Financial Officer, The Crown Estate. For services to The Crown Estate and the voluntary sector (Dorset)
  • Christopher Pomfret. For services to the economy in Cornwall and South West England (Cornwall)
  • Lt Peter Reed, MBE. For services to rowing (Nailsworth)
  • Professor Teresa Margaret Ridge. Professor of Social Policy, University of Bath. For services to social services (Shepton Mallet)
  • Michael Robbins. Principal, Bridgwater and Taunton College. For services to further education (Taunton)


Stephanie Millward, Hannah Mills and Paul Blake Credit: PA
  • Mrs Sarah Jane Banks. Higher Executive Officer, Ministry of Defence. For services to the MOD Disability Network (Westbury)
  • Paul Blake. For services to athletics (Bristol)
  • Dr Hilary Roberta Bollan. Senior Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence. For services to submarine safety and the Royal Navy (Bridgwater)
  • Mrs Dorothy May Brown. For services to the community in Pinehurst and Parks, Wiltshire (Swindon)
  • Derek Ypres Dawes. For services to the rehabilitation of offenders and the community in Plymouth (Plymouth)
  • Miss Joanna Frith. For services to archery (Glastonbury)
  • Miss Pat Gould. Chair, High View School, Plymouth. For services to education (Plymouth)
  • John Greenslade. For services to agriculture education and conservation in the West Country (Thorverton, Devon)
  • Major Ken Hames. For services to homeless and disabled people and ex-service personnel (Gloucestershire)
  • Mrs Bronwen Hewitt. For services to the Dame Hannah Rogers Trust (Plymouth)
  • Mrs Susan Jotcham. For services to heritage and the charity sector (Hanham, Bristol)
  • Professor Liz Kay. Associate Dean for Equality and Inclusion and Foundation Dean, Peninsula Dental School. for services to Dental Education (Liskeard)
  • Andrew Lewis. For services to triathlon (Lydney, Gloucestershire)
  • Douglas McGowan. Honorary Branch president, The Paddle Steamer Preservation Society. For services to the preservation of the PS Waverley and charity (Cheltenham)
  • Ms Hannah Mills. For services to sailing (Portland)
  • Mrs Stephanie Millward. For services to swimming (Box, Wiltshire)
  • Dr Terence Pennington. Honorary Research Fellow, Kew. For voluntary service to plant sciences and conservation particularly in Latin America (Lyme Regis)
  • John Stephen Pollard. Higher Executive Officer, Ministry of Defence. For services to service personnel and families (Gloucestershire)
  • Rita Roblin. Foster carer, Bristol and Chair, North Somerset Foster Panel. For services to children (Bristol)
  • Michael Spence. Teaching assistant and lately governor, Manorbrook Primary School Gloucestershire and Trustee, Great Britain Wheelchair Rugby. For services to education and disability sport (Berkeley, Gloucestershire)
  • Geoffrey Stock. For services to young people and the community in Horfield, Bristol (Bristol)
  • Mrs Susan Thain. Senior Executive Officer, Ministry of Defence. for services to army education (Salisbury)
  • Miss Nicola Wetherall. For services to holocaust education, genocide prevention and human rights education (Swindon)
Clockwise from top right - Major Ken Hames, Jo Frith, Nicola Wetherall and John Greenslade Credit: ITV News/PA