England announce squad for 2017 Women's Rugby World Cup

Credit: Credit: PA

The squad of 28 players to represent England in the 2017 Women’s Rugby World Cup has been confirmed ahead of the global tournament which kicks off in Dublin on Wednesday August 9.

Rachael Burford (Harlequins), Rochelle Clark (Worcester Valkyries), Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks) and Danielle Waterman (Bristol) all head to their fourth consecutive World Cup, having appeared in every tournament since 2006.

Sarah Hunter (Bristol), who led the team to their first Six Nations Grand Slam since 2012 earlier this season, will lead the side with Emily Scarratt (Lichfield) as vice captain.

England, the current title holders, are drawn in Pool B alongside Spain, Italy and USA and kick off their campaign against Spain at the UCD Bowl on Wednesday August 9 at 2pm.

All England games will be broadcast live on ITV.

Following a successful three-Test tour in New Zealand, where the Red Roses overcame Australia, Canada and the Black Ferns, the side go into the competition ranked number one team in the world.

The four most successful teams from the pool stages will qualify for the semi-finals which take place at the Kingspan Stadium, Belfast on Tuesday August 22, with both games live on ITV4.

The final will be held on Saturday August 26 at 7.45pm, again at Kingspan Stadium, and will be broadcast live on ITV4.

Credit: PA

Full Squad List:


  • Zoe Aldcroft (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 4 caps)

  • Sarah Bern (Bristol, 10 caps)

  • Rochelle Clark (Worcester Valkyries, 124 caps)

  • Amy Cokayne (Lichfield, 28 caps)

  • Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins, 25 caps)

  • Vicky Fleetwood (Saracens, 61 caps)

  • Sarah Hunter (C) (Bristol, 93 caps)

  • Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 8 caps)

  • Justine Lucas (Lichfield, 22 caps)

  • Alex Matthews (Richmond, 31 caps)

  • Harriet Millar-Mills (Lichfield, 46 caps)

  • Izzy Noel-Smith (Bristol, 31 caps)

  • Marlie Packer (Bristol, 47 caps)

  • Abbie Scott (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 17 caps)

  • Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 105 caps)


  • Rachael Burford (Harlequins, 67 caps)

  • Natasha Hunt (Lichfield, 37 caps)

  • Megan Jones (Bristol, 4 caps)

  • La Toya Mason (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 66 caps)

  • Katy Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 85 caps)

  • Amber Reed (Bristol, 39 caps)

  • Leanne Riley (Harlequins, 10 caps)

  • Emily Scarratt (VC) (Lichfield, 69 caps)

  • Emily Scott (Saracens, 23 caps)

  • Lydia Thompson (Worcester Valkyries, 34 caps)

  • Danielle Waterman (Bristol, 70 caps)

  • Kay Wilson (Richmond, 44 caps)

  • Amy Wilson Hardy (Bristol, 7 caps)