Winner of 2017 British Firework Championships announced

One of Selstar Fireworks' displays. Credit: Selstar Fireworks

The winner of this year’s British Firework Championships has been announced following the two-day showdown between six of the UK’s top pyrotechnics specialists at Plymouth Hoe.

Selstar Fireworks from West Sussex has been crowned the ‘British Firework Champion 2017’ .

The runner-up this year is Nemisis Pyrotechnics from Cheshire and in third place, Smart Pyrotechnics from Wiltshire.

The six professional fireworks companies that competed this year were:

on Wednesday 9 August:

  • 9.30pm – Dragon Fireworks

  • 9.50pm – AJ Pyrotechnics

  • 10.10pm – The UK Firework & Events Co

on Thursday 10 August:

  • 9.30pm – Smart Pyrotechnics

  • 9.50pm – Nemisis Pyrotechnics

  • 10.10pm – Selstar Fireworks

Thousands of people gathered around Plymouth Hoe to watch over four tonnes of fireworks set off into the night skies.

The event was hosted by Plymouth City Council and The Event Services Association and is regarded as one of the biggest annual displays put on by professional firework companies in the UK.