West Country residents honoured by the Queen

HM Queen Elizabeth delivered her annual broadcast to the Commonwealth last week. Credit: PA

Many people from the West Country have been recognised in the Queen's New Year's Honours List for 2018.

  • Knight Bachelor

Geoffrey Clifton-Brown. Member of Parliament for the Cotswolds. For political and public service. (Cirencester, Gloucestershire)

Richard Julian Long, CBE. Artist and Sculptor. For services to Art. (Bristol)

Craig Thomas MacKey, QPM. Deputy commissioner, Metropolitan Police Service. For services to Policing. (Devizes, Wiltshire)

Michael Morpurgo, OBE. Author. For services to Literature and charity. (Devon)

Professor Robert Sparks, CBE. Professorial Research Fellow, University of Bristol. For services to Volcanology and Geology. (Bristol)

  • Royal Victorian Order DCVO

Dame Janet Olive Trotter, DBE. Lord-Lieutenant of Gloucestershire.

  • Order of the British Empire - DBE (DAME)

Mrs Angela Pedder, OBE. Formerly chief executive, Devon Success Regime and Sustainability and Transformation Plan. For services to Healthcare. (East Lothian)

  • Order of the British Empire - CBE

Mrs Jilly Cooper, OBE. Author and Journalist. For services to Literature andcharity. (Stroud, Gloucestershire)

Paul Gregg. Professor of Economic and Social Policy, University of Bath. For services to Children and Social Mobility. (Bristol)

Ms Julia McKenzie. Actress Singer and director. For services to Drama. (Devon)

Rick Stein, OBE. Chef and Restaurateur. For services to theEconomy. (Cornwall)

  • Order of the British Empire MBE

Dr Rohit Shankar. Consultant in Adult Developmental Psychiatry, CornwallPartnership NHS Foundation Trust. For services to People with LearningDisabilities in Cornwall. (Truro, Cornwall)

Miss Anya Shrubsole. For services to Cricket. (Bath, Somerset)

Ms Wendy Smith. Community Engagement Strategic Lead, Peninsula School of Dentistry. For services to Oral Healthcare and Dental Education in the South West. (Gunnislake, Cornwall)

Michael Squire. Foster carer, Wiltshire Council. For services toChildren and Families. (Salisbury, Wiltshire)

Mrs Rachel Squire. Foster carer, Wiltshire Council. For services toChildren and Families. (Salisbury, Wiltshire)

Mrs Elizabeth Thomas. Group Leader, Bereavement Service,Gloucestershire. For services to Supporting People Bereaved by Suicide in Gloucestershire. (Hucclecote, Gloucestershire)

Miss Janet Parrott. For voluntary political service. (Newton Abbot,Devon)

Maj (retired) Donald Peploe. Staff officer, Army Equipment Support, Ministry of Defence. For services to Military Capability. (Wiltshire)

Michael Prior. Commercial officer, Military Flying Training System Programme, Ministry of Defence. For services to Military Training Provision. (Gloucestershire)

Adrian Prior-Sankey. For services to the community in Taunton. (Taunton, Somerset)

Mrs Lindsey Isaacs. Formerly head of Prevention, Dorset Fire and Rescue Service. For services to Fire Prevention and Community Safety in Dorset. (Dorchester, Dorset)

Anthony Johnson. Chair of Governors at Oaklands Primary School, Yeovil, Somerset. For services to Education. (Yeovil, Somerset)

Mrs Shahina Johnson. For services for the Arts and Creative Industries in Swindon and Wiltshire. (Devizes, Wiltshire)

John Larke, TD. For services to Music in Cornwall. (Truro, Cornwall)

Christopher Loveday. For services to Children to People with Mental Health Issues and the community in Swindon. (Marlborough, Wiltshire)

Alec Collyer. Chairman, Dartmoor Search and Rescue Group. For services to Search and Rescue in Dartmoor. (Teignmouth, Devon)

Brian Davies. Senior executive officer, Engineering Authority.Ministry of Defence. For services to Military Aviation. (Wiltshire)

Dr David Evans. Formerly General Practitioner, Budleigh Salterton Health Centre. For services to the community in Budleigh Salterton, Devon. (Budleigh Salterton, Devon)

Dr Nicholas Gair. For services to ex-Service Personnel and Young People in London. (Somerset)

Constable James Gallienne. Devon and Cornwall Police. For services to Policing and Search and Rescue. (Cornwall)

Donovan Gardner. For services to the community in Cornwall. (Camborne, Cornwall)

Tobiasz Gorniak. For services to Young People in Plymouth. (Plymouth, Devon)

Peter Andrew. Deputy chairman, House Builders Federation. For services to the Construction Industry. (Falmouth, Cornwall)

Iain Ball. For services to Cathedral Choral Music and to Young People. (Wedmore, Somerset)

Ian Brailey, JP. For services to the magistracy and the community inBristol. (Bedminster, Bristol)

Donald Campbell. Formerly chairman, East Devon Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. For services to Nature Conservation.

Craig Carscadden. For services to Athletes with Disabilities and to theParalympics. (Frampton Cotterell, Bristol)

Mrs Susan Coates. For services to Girl-guiding. (Chippenham, Wiltshire)

  • Order of the British Empire OBE

Miss Heather Knight. Captain, England Women's Cricket Team. For services to Cricket. (London)

Dr Clifford Mann. President, Royal College of Emergency Medicine. For services to Emergency Medicine. (Taunton, Somerset)

Dr Patricia Moore. Regional chairman South West of England, Conservative Party. For voluntary political service. (Cornwall)

Edward Morrison. For services to Rugby Union. (Bristol)

Norman Pascal. Formerly chief inspector operations, Avon and Somerset Constabulary. For services to Diversity in the community in Avon and Somerset. (Gloucestershire)

Professor Richard Thompson. Professor of Marine Biology, University of Plymouth. For services to Marine Science. (Hampshire) (Plymouth, Devon)

Dr Brian Bowsher. Chief executive, Science and Technology Facilities Council. For services to International and National Metrology. (Dorchester, Dorset)

Stephen Criddle. Principal, South Devon College, Paignton. Forservices to Education. (Exeter, Devon)

Dr Michael Durkin. Formerly national director, Patient Safety. NHS England. For services to Patient Safety. (Cheltenham, Gloucestershire)

Ms Lynne Franks. For services to Business, Fashion and Women'sEmpowerment. (Wincanton, Somerset)

Ms Jeannine Hendrick. Governor, HM Prison Exeter, and Violence Reduction Project manager. For services to Prison Safety and Governance. (Devon)

Ms Rosamund Cox. Wildlife Editor and Writer. For services toWildlife Conservation through Photography. (Bristol)

  • Queen's Police Medal QPM

Andrew Marsh. Chief Constable, Avon and Somerset Constabulary

Constable Tina Newman. Avon and Somerset Constabulary.

  • Queen's Fire Service Medal QFSM

Chief Fire Officer Paul Walker. Cornwall Fire and Rescue Service.