Coronavirus: All school in the West Country to close

All schools in the West Country will close at the end of this week in response to the coronavirus pandemic.

Schools and colleges across the region will close until further notice after Friday (March 20).

The Prime Minister announced the closures during a press conference earlier this afternoon.

Schools in Wales and Scotland have also announced that they will close entirely by the end of this week.

Below is a list of schools in the West Country that had announced full school closures prior to Friday. We will update this accordingly.

Full school closures:


  • Caradon APA Academy - closed to 27 March

  • Carrick APA Academy - closed to 27 March

  • CHES Academy - closed to 14 April

  • Kehelland Primary School

  • Nine Maidens APA Academy - closed to 27 March

  • North Cornwall APA Academy - closed to 27 March

  • Penwith APA Academy - closed to 27 March

  • Restormel APA Academy - closed to 27 March

  • South Petherwin - closed

  • The Roseland Academy - closed from 20- 27 March, then they will switch to remote learning.


  • Instow Community Primary School

  • River Dart Academy

  • Shaugh Prior Primary School

  • The Erme Primary School

  • Southbrook School

  • South Devon Steiner School


  • Avalon School

  • Fairmead School

  • Fiveways Special School

  • Maiden Beech Academy - closed to 22 March

  • Stoke St Michael Primary School - closed 19 -20 March


  • Bristol Cathedral Choir School

  • Claremont School

  • Kingsweston Special School

  • New Fosseway School

  • St Brendan's Sixth Form College

  • St Paul's Nursery School at Children's Centre

  • The Briairwood Special School

  • Venturers Academy


  • Leighterton Primary School - closed due to burst water main

  • St. Dominic's Catholic Primary School

  • Upton St. Leonards C of E Primary School - one-day closure for deep clean

South Gloucestershire

  • Cherry Garden Primary School

  • Elm Park Primary School

  • New Horizons Learning Centre

  • New Siblands Schools

  • Redfield Edge Community Primary School

  • St Chad's Patchway Church of England School

  • St Mary's C of E VA Primary School, Yate

  • St Stephen's C of E VC Junior School

  • The Castle Secondary School

North Somerset

  • Ravenswood School


  • Hardenhuish School, Chippenham

  • Sheldon School, Chippenham

Other schools across the South West have announced partial closures, allowing certain year groups to stay at home.

For a full breakdown of partial school closures, or dates pupils are expected to return, parents are advised to check the websites of their local councils.

Coronavirus: Everything you need to know