Swindon Robins win Speedway Premier League after epic final

Robins captain Jason Doyle is now going for his first World Title. Credit: PA

Swindon have been crowned Speedway Premier League Champions after a memorable comeback in the final.

The Robins were trailing Wolverhampton Wolves 47-43 after Monday's first meet and knew it would be a difficult task to overturn the deficit.

Captain Jason Doyle led by example with four wins in his first four rides before securing the vital 3-3 in Heat 15 with Nick Morris which clinched a one-point aggregate win.

It meant the final finished Wolverhampton Wolves 89 Swindon Robins 90.

This is the Robins’ first league title since 2012.

Doyle is now going for his first World Title with two Grand Prixs left.