Press Centre

The Story of Now

  • Episode: 

    1 of 1

  • Transmission (TX): 

    Mon 27 May 2013
  • TX Confirmed: 

  • Time: 

    10.00pm - 11.00pm
  • Week: 

    Week 22 2013 : Sat 25 May - Fri 31 May
  • Channel: 

  • Status: 

  • Amended: 

    Wed 15 May 2013


The information contained herein is embargoed from press use, commercial and non-commercial reproduction and sharing - in the public domain until Tuesday 21 May 2013.
This year marks the 30th anniversary of a musical phenomenon that’s become the compendium to everyone’s musical growing-up.  Currently on its 84th edition, Now That’s What I Call Music! is one of the British pop music’s biggest success stories.
Since the first ever Now was rolled out for Christmas 1983 with its delicious mix of Phil Collins, Kajagoogoo, Culture Club and Howard Jones, the series has gone on to sell more than 100 million records in the UK alone.
It’s been released in just about every format imaginable, from vinyl and audio cassette to CD, download and even mini-disc.  Everyone owns one; you can pretty much work out someone’s age by it; and 30 years on, Now shows no signs of slowing down.
For the first time ever on TV, this fast-paced and witty documentary special for ITV will tell the fascinating story of how Now grew from a one-off punt by Virgin Records and EMI to become the most enduring brand in pop music.
We’ll find out how compilation albums began life with poor quality record releases from Pickwick, K-Tel and Ronco before Now came on the scene; we’ll hear how the iconic moniker Now That’s What I Call Music began life with a pig and a chicken; and learn about those artists who vied to be Disc One Track One, and those who refused to appear on Now altogether.
We’ll hear from those who created it, the artists who appeared on it, and from some well-known faces who went out and bought it.
With contributions from Sir Richard Branson, Dermot O’Leary, Dom Joly, Mark Wright, Jason Donovan, Limahl, Pete Waterman, Brian McFadden, Liz McClarnon, Gordon Smart and many others, this is going to be a must-see for all music fans.