Press Centre

Manhunt The Night Stalker

Content is embargoed until 00.01am on Thursday 9th September 

Manhunt The Night Stalker

Series overview

Manhunt The Night Stalker, a four part drama, is the real life story of the police pursuit of a notorious serial burglar and rapist, whose 17 year reign of terror left thousands of elderly people in south east London living in fear. It is based on the diaries of Colin Sutton.

The drama is written by Ed Whitmore (Viewpoint, Silent Witness, Rillington Place, Strike Back) who also wrote the first series of Manhunt, which told the real life story of how the murder of Amelie Delagrange on Twickenham Green in 2004 was eventually linked to the murder of Marsha McDonnell in 2003 and the abduction and murder of Milly Dowler in 2002 and how the tenacious detective pursued serial killer, Levi Bellfield, and brought him to justice. 

This sequel is based on the true story of the police investigation of a series of rapes, sexual assaults and burglaries which took place in South East London between 1992 and 2009.  

A dedicated unit, Operation Minstead, was established to hunt down the man who became known as The Night Stalker.  

Manhunt The Night Stalker is devised by Colin Sutton and Ed Whitmore and produced by Buffalo Pictures.