Match report and highlights: New Zealand 34-17 Australia

New Zealand made sporting history at Twickenham as they became the first team to be crowned Rugby World Cup winners for a second successive time.

Tries in each half by wing Nehe Milner-Skudder and centre Ma'a Nonu, followed by a late Beauden Barrett breakaway score, plus 19 points from All Blacks fly-half Dan Carter - including an important late drop-goal - in his 112th and final Test before joining French club Racing 92, saw New Zealand home 34-17.

New Zealand were superb throughout the tournament.

Credit: PA

Match report and highlights: Argentina 15-29 Australia

Australia survived a rousing second-half fightback from Argentina to register a 29-15 victory at Twickenham that sets up a World Cup final against old foes New Zealand next Saturday.

Adam Ashley-Cooper's hat-trick and a touch down by Rob Simmons helped the Wallabies reach the sport's global showpiece for the first time since 2003, but their fans were subjected to some nerve-shredding moments.

Adam Ashley-Cooper was the hero.

Credit: PA

Match report and highlights: Ireland 20-43 Argentina

Argentina's Juan Imhoff fends off the Irish defence to score his side's fourth try.

Credit: PA

Argentina piled more World Cup misery on Ireland by reaching the last four of the competition with a 43-20 victory in Cardiff.

Ireland's record of never having reached the semi-final of a World Cup continued as Argentina scored four tries through Juan Imhoff (2), Matias Moroni and Joaquin Tuculet.

Match report and highlights: New Zealand 62-13 France

The All Blacks raised their game against France.

Credit: PA

Julian Savea bludgeoned France with a savage hat-trick to book New Zealand a World Cup semi-final with South Africa and evoke memories of Jonah Lomu steamrollering England in 1995.New Zealand crushed France 62-13 in the biggest-ever World Cup quarter-final victory, Savea every inch "the next Lomu" he has been dubbed since bursting onto the scene in 2012.

Lock Brodie Retallick sparked the nine-try rout and Nehe Milner-Skudder, Jerome Kaino and Kieran Read all crossed, before Tawera Kerr-Barlow stole a late brace in New Zealand's merciless triumph.