Weekdays 10am-12:30pm ITV

Malta, Madeira and The Balearics added to the travel green list

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps has confirmed Malta, Madeira, the Balearic Islands, several UK Overseas Territories and Caribbean Islands (including Barbados) will be added to the government's green list from 4am on Wednesday June 30.

All additions to the green list apart from Malta will also join the "green watchlist", as will Israel and Jerusalem - signalling that these countries are at risk of moving from green to amber.

Fully vaccinated travellers from amber list countries may also no longer have to self-isolate, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps has said.

Mr Shapps followed the administrations in Scotland and Northern Ireland in adding Malta and Spain's Balearic islands to the ranks of green list countries.

The list - from which returning travellers are not required to self-isolate - has also been extended to a number of Caribbean destinations including Bermuda, Antigua, Barbados and Grenada.

Mr Shapps said the Government would continue to take a "cautious" approach to reopening foreign travel.

However, he said the rollout of the coronavirus vaccination programme meant they could start to look at plans for easing restrictions on travel from amber list countries as well.

"Thanks to our successful vaccination programme, our intention is that later in the summer UK residents who are fully vaccinated will not have to isolate when travelling from amber list countries," he tweeted.

"We'll set out further details next month."

The changes to the green list destinations will come into effect at 4am on June 4.

Weekdays 10am-12:30pm ITV