Sir Chris Hoy became Great Britain's most successful Olympian on a golden day for Team GB.

The Scottish cyclist won the Men's Keirin final at the velodrome taking his overall tally of Olympic gold medals to six - surpassing the five won by rower Sir Steve Redgrave.

Sir Chris' gold topped a remarkable day for Team GB who are enjoying their best Olympic Games since 1908.

Earlier, Alistair Brownlee won the triathlon leaving Team GB with 19 gold medals - the same amount they claimed in Beijing 2008.

Great Britain's Alistair Brownlee (middle), Jonathan Brownlow and Spain's Javier Gomez (left) celebrate their medals in the men's triathlon. Credit: EMPICS Sport

Britain's Dressage Team then surpassed that total as Carl Hester, Laura Bechtolsheimer and Charlotte Dujardin put in a superb performance to beat Germany to the gold.

There were hopes for three more gold medals in the velodrome and while Laura Trott won the Omnium and Sir Chris the Keirin, there was disappointment as Victoria Pendleton was beaten in the sprint by Australia's Anna Meares.

Victoria Pendleton waves to fans after losing her second Sprint final. Credit: John Giles/PA Wire

With five full days of competition left Team GB have already surpassed the 47 medals they won in Beijing 2008. The team currently has 48 - 22 gold, 13 silver and 13 bronze.

Britain's best-ever Olympics were the London Games of 1908 when it claimed an unsurpassable 146 medals - 56 golds, 51 silvers and 39 bronze.

Who are Team GB's 22 gold winners?


  • Jessica Ennis - Heptathlon.

  • Greg Rutherford - Men's Long Jump.

  • Mo Farah - 10,000m.


  • Bradley Wiggins - Men's Individual Time Trial

  • Jason Kenny - Men's Sprint.

  • Sir Chris Hoy, Jason Kenny, Philip Hindes - Men's Team Sprint.

  • Sir Chris Hoy - Men's Keirin.

  • Steven Burke, Ed Clancy, Geraint Thomas, Peter Kennaugh - Men's Team Pursuit Sprint.

  • Victoria Pendleton - Women's Keirin.

  • Dani King, Joanna Rowsell, Laura Trott - Women's Team Pursuit.

  • Laura Trott - Omnium.

Canoe Slalom:

  • Tim Baillie, Etienne Stott - Men's C2.


  • Carl Hester, Laura Bechtolsheimer, Charlotte Dujardin - Team Dressage.

  • Nick Skelton, Ben Maher, Scott Brash, Peter Charles - Men's Team Showjumping.


  • Helen Glover, Heather Stanning - Women's Pair.

  • Katherine Grainger, Anna Watkins - Women's Double Sculls.

  • Andy Triggs Hodge, Pete Reed, Alex Gregory, Tom James - Men's Coxless Fours.

  • Katherine Copeland, Sophie Hosking - Women's Lightweight Double Sculls.


  • Ben Ainslie - Men's Finn.


  • Peter Wilson - Men's Double Trap.


  • Andy Murray - Men's Singles.


  • Alistair Brownlee - Men's Triathlon.