1. ITV Report

Labour in turmoil: Who's gone from the shadow cabinet so far?

Labour has descended into crisis as several high-profile members of the party leadership have quit in the past few days.

It follows criticism of leader Jeremy Corbyn over his contribution to the 'remain' campaign in the run-up to the EU referendum, which critics said had been "lacklustre" and left voters confused over the official Labour line.

The wave of departures began when Mr Corbyn sacked foreign defence secretary Hilary Benn overnight, with a number of resignations announced in the hours since.

Here's who has gone so far:

Hilary Benn, the MP for Leeds Central, was sacked by Jeremy Corbyn after telling the Labour leader he had "lost confidence" in him.

It follows reports that Mr Benn was coordinating a coup to unseat Mr Corbyn.

Hilary Benn Credit: PA

Heidi Alexander, the MP for Lewisham East, was the first to officially step down from the shadow cabinet.

In her resignation letter, she told Mr Corbyn: "As much as I believe you are a man of principle, I do not believe you have the capacity to shape the answers our country is demanding and I believe if we are to form the next government a change of leadership is essential."

Heidi Alexander Credit: PA

Ashfield MP Gloria De Piero has also stepped down from her role on the shadow cabinet.

Gloria De Piero Credit: PA
  • Ian Murray, shadow secretary of state for Scotland

Ian Murray is the representative for Edinburgh South, and Labour's only remaining MP left in Scotland.

His departure means Labour will now have to appoint a non-Scottish MP as shadow Scottish secretary.

Ian Murray Credit: PA

Lucy Powell, MP for Manchester Central, resigned as she said she felt Mr Corbyn's leadership was "untenable".

"Given the big challenges faced by our country and our Party over the coming months, and the possibility of an imminent general election, I do not have the confidence that you can bring the Party together, lead us to a General Election and be an effective Opposition," she wrote.

Lucy Powell Credit: PA

MP for Nottingham South, Lilian Greenwood, has also resigned from her role on the shadow cabinet.

Lillian Greenwood Credit: PA

Bristol East MP Kerry McCarthy said the outcome of the EU referendum had been a "huge disappointment", as her role was "intrinsically linked" with the UK's membership of the union.

In her resignation letter, she said: "Although I do not doubt your personal commitment to your long-held principles, I believe that a new leader is needed to take on the challenges ahead: Steering our way through the very difficult period facing this country, exerting a decisive influence on the post-referendum negotiations, and winning broad-based electoral support."

Kerry McCarthy Credit: PA

Seema Malhotra, MP for Feltham and Heston, has also resigned from her role on the shadow cabinet.

There were reports she had earlier been canvassing support to put forward shadow chancellor John McDonnell as a successor to Mr Corbyn, but Mr McDonnell roundly rejected any notion he might run for the leadership.

Seema Malhotra Credit: PA

Vernon Coaker, who has been MP for Gedling since 1997, has also resigned from the shadow cabinet.

He hinted at the possibility of resigning early on Sunday afternoon, telling BBC's Sunday Politics East Midlands: "Clearly we are all going to have to reflect on what that should be, whether we stay or whether we go."

Vernon Coaker Credit: Reuters
  • Lord Falconer, shadow Lord Chancellor and shadow secretary of state for Justice

Lord Falconer has been a member of the shadow cabinet since 2010.

Prior to that he was in various ministerial roles in Tony Blair's cabinet from 2001 until Blair's resignation in 2007.

Lord Falconer Credit: PA

Karl Turner, MP for Kingston Upon Hull, has resigned "with a very heavy heart".

He was shadow Attorney General in the shadow cabinet.

Karl Turner Credit: PA

Chris Bryant, MP for Rhondda, has tweeted that he handed in his resignation, saying: "We need someone new to unite and lead Labour".

He was shadow Leader of the House of Commons.

Chris Bryant Credit: PA
  • Diana Johnson, shadow foreign minister
  • Anna Turley, shadow minister for civil society
  • Toby Perkins, shadow armed forces minister
  • Ruth Smeeth, Parliamentary Private Secretary to Scotland and Northern Ireland teams
  • Yvonne Fovargue, shadow minister for consumer affairs and science
  • Steve Reed, shadow minister for local government.
  • Alex Cunningham, shadow minister for the natural environment
  • Wayne David, shadow Cabinet Office, Scotland and justice minister
  • Jenny Chapman, shadow minister for education
  • Lisa Nandy, shadow secretary for energy and climate change
  • Owen Smith, shadow work and pensions secretary
  • Angela Eagle, shadow business secretary
  • John Healy, shadow housing minister
  • Maria Eagle, shadow culture secretary
  • Kate Green, shadow equalities minister
  • Nia Griffith, shadow Wales secretary
  • Luciana Berger, shadow mental health minister
  • Nick Thomas-Symonds, shadow employment minister

More on this story