Isolation cut for vaccinated passengers arriving into Jersey from red areas

Significant changes have been announced to Jersey's traffic light system. Credit: ITV Channel TV

Jersey's government has announced that fully-vaccinated people arriving into the island from 'Red' areas within the Common Travel Area will no longer face long spells of isolation.

The Covid Status Certification (or vaccine passport) system is being extended to cover those regions which have high numbers of coronavirus cases. The change means that arrivals will only be required to isolate until they get the result of a negative PCR test on arrival, although they will be asked to take a second test on day eight. It comes after the Amber status for UK areas was removed, meaning they will either be defined as Red or Green "to make the system simpler".

The changes come into effect on 15 June.

Meanwhile, 28 areas of the UK are set to turn 'Red' from 00:01 on 13 June.

These regions are: Staffordshire Moorlands, Southwark, Tower Hamlets, Wandsworth, Kingston upon Thames, Lambeth, Blackpool, Cheshire West and Chester, Cheshire East, Tameside, Trafford, Reading, Wokingham, Luton, Camden, Hackney, Islington, Newcastle upon Tyne, Liverpool, Sefton, Warrington, Wirral, Wyre, Lancaster, West Lancashire, Birmingham, Bradford, Leeds.

All the existing 26 emergency brakes have been reviewed and will remain in place for a further two weeks, the States has confirmed. Green, Amber and Red classifications will continue to apply for the rest of the world.

A government spokesman said discussions were ongoing to introduce Covid-19 Status Certification for visitors from some countries, including France, Madeira and the USA. They added that the border testing regime was likely to remain in place throughout the summer.

Guernsey is currently due to withdraw its border restrictions in 1 July.